Up until this point, we’ve blogged about our favorite fashions, the places we’ve been to and loved, and the places we’ve been to and hated. As we mentioned, our work takes us to many places, so I thought maybe it’s time for a travel story. For those of you who have the pleasure of traveling often or even sporadically, you know that some of the best and funniest events happen while you’re on the road. This is the story of one of those moments…
I was traveling from London to Tel Aviv via Vienna where I had a 9-hour layover. Let me just say that there is no way to keep yourself truly busy for 9 hours straight in an airport. By hour 7, I had done work, eaten everything the lounge had to offer, streamed and watched my TV shows, and visited the duty free shops…twice. So there I was 2 hours before boarding, thoroughly bored, and I thought, well I might as well have a drink. One drink turned into a few and I was feeling nice and toasty when I finally got to the gate for my flight.
Now, for a little side-note: I have flown the 8:00PM flight to Tel Aviv from Vienna upwards of 10 times and as long as I can remember, the gate for the Tel Aviv flight literally kisses the gate for the flight to Tehran. You can imagine that this can sometimes be awkward and I constantly wonder if this is a strange attempt by the Austrians to conduct a daily social or political experiment.
As I said, I often find the proximity of the gates to be awkward, however, on this particular day, after many hours in the airport and a few drinks down, I found it hilarious and thought, I am going to make contact. And, that’s exactly what I did! As I was boarding the flight, I waved to two very nice Iranian women, one of whom shyly waved back to me….and smiled. I found this to be wildly comical, gratifying and satisfying all in one. If only, diplomatic relations were conducted among women.
I hope you enjoyed this little story from the road. Please feel free to share your tales with us. I’ll leave you with this, on any given day, you never know when something truly extraordinary or just plain silly will happen…
