According to many, Prague is one of those cities that has Paris-like charm. But for me,  since Prague is my hometown, when I go to Paris, I’d say it has much of the same Prague-like charm. Regardless of the rhetoric, both cities are beautiful and I love them dearly. What these two cities share in common, besides their obvious beauty,  is the  mysterious atmosphere and old glory way of being. These qualities especially come to life after the sunset when the city calms down and crowds of tourists slowly disappear, making it the perfect time to explore. Over the holidays I visited my family in  Prague and one evening managed to escape the craziness of the season to take a walk. It was freezing cold but nothing that one several gluhweins (hot spicy wine) and grogs (czech version of tea and rum) couldn’t fix.

To further indulge on wine, I revisited one of my favorite wine bars in Prague, the Monarch, which has one of the best collections of Czech wines, among many others, to taste and some great cheese/meat plates to go with it. Feeling ever so slightly buzzed and happy, I then walked some more and got to enjoy the best views of that misty and mysterious Prague from the Charles Bridge. Here are some of those moments. Can’t wait to be back again and if you’re lucky enough to be visiting Prague soon, send us a note, we’ll be happy to suggest some places to visit.


